Gradle Medal for Good Teaching

The Gradle Medal for Good Teaching was established in 1960 by Mrs. Audry Hayden Gradle in memory of Harry S. Gradle, MD, co-founder of the PAAO. The Gradle Medal for Teaching acknowledges excellence in teaching and education in the field of ophthalmology. This award recognizes a professor ophthalmologist who has demonstrated leadership in developing, implementing, or maintaining an outstanding training program and/or continuing education in the field of Ophthalmology. The awardee exemplifies excellence and promotes best practice in education. The awardee promotes positive relationships between the training program and the community and has been an advocate and leader in the field of Ophthalmology.

Past Recipients

2017Lima, PeruHelena Prior Filipe MD MSc (Portugal)
eLearning CommitteeEduardo Mayorga MD (Argentina)
Eduardo Viteri Coronel MD (Ecuador)
2015Bogotá, ColombiaEnrique Graue Wiechers MD (Mexico)
2013Rio de Janeiro, BrazilNewton Kara José MD (Brazil)
2011Buenos Aires, ArgentinaRubens Belfort Jr MD (Brazil)
2009San Francisco, CaliforniaHugo D. Nano MD (Argentina)
& Albert Vaiser MD (USA)
2007Cancun, MexicoBradley R. Straatsma MD (USA)
2006São Paulo, BrazilMiguel Burner Jr. MD (Canada)
2005Santiago, ChileHarley A. Bicas MD (Brazil)
2003San Juan, Puerto Rico4 Basic Sciences Course Directors
Mario Perez Genovesi MD (Argentina); Ana Petrili MD (Brazil)
William Townsend MD (Puerto Rico); Carlos Vera Cristo MD (Colombia)
2001Buenos Aires, ArgentinaCarlos A. Moreira Sr, MD (Brazil)
1999Orlando, FloridaRamon Font, MD (USA)
1997Cancún, MéxicoManuel Miranda Sr., MD (Puerto Rico)
1995Quito, EcuadorWilliam Townsend, MD (Puerto Rico)
1993Caracas, VenezuelaRobert N. Shaffer, MD (USA)
1991Anaheim, CaliforniaAldolfo Gómez Morales, MD (Argentina)
1989Rio de Janeiro, BrazilRaul Rodríguez Barrios, MD (Uruguay)
1987Sto. Domingo, Dom. Rep.Juan Verdaguer Taradella, MD (Chile)
1985New Orleans, LouisianaBruce E. Spivey, MD (USA)
1983Lima, PeruCarlos Vera Cristo, MD (Colombia)
1981Acapulco, MexicoFeliciano Palomino Dena, MD (Mexico)
1979Miami, FloridaA. Edward Maumenee, MD (USA)
1977Santiago, ChileHilton Rocha, MD (Brazil)
1975San Juan, Puerto RicoGuillermo Picó Santiago, MD (Puerto Rico)
1972Houston, TexasMichael J. Hogan, MD (USA)
1968Mar del Plata, ArgentinaJohn Harry King, MD (USA)
1964Montreal, CanadaJuan Arentsen S., MD (Chile)
1960Caracas, VenezuelaBrittain F. Payne, MD (USA)